Testimony of Prince Bradford
May 23, 1894

Prince Bradford gave testimony about his life in order to secure a pension.

(3—446.)

DEPOSITION A

Case of Prince Bradford[Ctf?] No. 52,8,872

On this 23 day of May, 1894, at Huntsville, County of Madison State of Alabama, before me, A. B. Parkey, a Special Examiner of the Pension Office, personally appeared Prince Bradford, who, being by me first duly sworn to answer truly all interrogatories propounded to him during this Special Examination of aforesaid pension claim, deposes and says: My age is 71. Occupation farmer, residence and P.O. Address Huntsville, Ala.

I was a soldier during the late war as a Corporal Co. A. 17—U.S.C. Inf. no other service. I enlisted November 30, 1863 and was discharged April 25, 1866. I am now pensioned under Act of June 27, 1890 at the rate of $12 per month forvaricose veins of rt leg, rheumatism and disease of the heart.

I am an applicant for pension for rheumatism, disease of spine and varicose veins. These disabilities were contracted in service and line of duty.

I was bred and born in Virginia but have lived within five miles of this place since I was 10 years old. I belonged to Hamilton Bradford Huntsville, before the war. My occupation before the war was that of blacksmith. The man who worked in the shop with me was Gordon Bradford. He is dead. 

Ben Hammond, Albert Fletcher, Joe Nichols, Caleb Jones & Annanias Jackson knew me before the war and have known me since the war.

I had no sickness, except a spell of the cholera morbus, before the war.

I had no doctor to treat me for anything before I went into the army.

I had no trouble whatever with any disability for which I now claim pension before the war. The disabilities for which I claim pension are a result of my army service.